Doodling with Snickers

4 Sep

Wow, I thought I was posting roughly once a week, but I’ve been leaving you all high and dry, huh? Here it is September, and not once have you heard a peep coming from my witty, insightful, and apparently delusion direction. Once a week? Ha!

I haven’t made anything recently that I’ve taken a picture of. Though I am planning some cupcakes later tonight. I’m making them from a box mix and can of frosting. I’m not ashamed to admit that I, too, sink into the depths of cupcake cop-out, and don’t always make desserts from scratch. I’ll throw on some sprinkles to jazz them up a bit, but that’s about as much effort as I’ll put into them. What? It’s labor day weekend. That means I don’t have to labor!

So, not to completely change the topic or anything, but has anyone ever had snickerdoodles? I can’t recall having ever eaten them until the other day. Which is why they were on my list of foods to make. But now that I’ve had them, I’m not sure what I think about them. The recipe I used claimed to produce the “Best Ever Snickerdoodles!” Don’t get me wrong, they were very good. I brought some to work, and as I was sitting in the front doing my job, I heard from the back room, “These are DELICIOUS!” And they were. They just weren’t… memorable. If I was craving a cookie, I wouldn’t think of snickerdoodles. I’d think of oatmeal raisin, or macaroon, or even Oreos! I would crack open my cookie cookbook and have several dozen options dog-eared before I even remembered snickerdoodles existed.

Now, they were good. Nice and chewy, and the recipe I used called for a bit of corn syrup that added a nice texture. You roll them in a cinnamon and sugar mixture, so you get that flavor coating the outside. Plus, their name just tickles me. Haha, snickerdoodle! I snicker when I hear it.

But these are a cookie that lurks in the background instead of taking a starring role. Sure, at some point you’ll probably remember they exist and they’re actually pretty tasty, but in the meantime, you’ll be out cavorting with a chocolate chip cookie, or sneaking a shortbread on the sly, or feasting on a fudge sandwich. Snickerdoodles won’t even be on the radar. Not to mention, don’t they look kind of boring?

I just don’t know. I’m happy I made them at least once, but would I make them again? They were good, but do I even remember how they tasted, besides “good”? They are a very homey, comforting kind of a cookie, but is that enough to pull out the flour and sugar again? I’m so conflicted when it comes to this confection.

So, rather than tax my brain on this perplexing problem, I’m off to read some trashy romance novels and eat cupcakes from a box. Don’t hate me ’cause you ain’t me.

7 Responses to “Doodling with Snickers”

  1. Beth September 4, 2010 at 9:09 pm #

    “but in the meantime, you’ll be out cavorting with a chocolate chip cookie, or sneaking a shortbread on the sly, or feasting on a fudge sandwich.”
    How can you make eating a cookie sound like so much fun?
    Also a real plus for the snickerdoole is the fact they are a great, cook, mini cook cookie to make. (Politically correct for mother-daughter). Imagine all the fun a tot could have rolling a nice wad of cookie dough in sugar and cinnamon. I can just smell the fun. THAT’S why we have snickerdoodles. Also the name is a great kid cookie name.
    Fondly, Mary Ann Snicker-Doodle, President of Kid Cookie of the Year Club.

    • Sarah September 4, 2010 at 9:35 pm #

      Haha, thanks for pointing that out, Mom! Oops, I mean Mary Ann. Though I can’t actually remember us making them as a mother-daughter activity (political correctness? Psh! I live life on the edge!).

      Kid Cookie of the Year Club? Now THAT’S a club I can support!

  2. Hannah September 4, 2010 at 9:43 pm #

    I’m very ashamed that I have not commented in awhile, but usually by the time I’m done with one of your posts, I’m off tearing my house apart to try and find cookies.

    Also, I happen to LOVE snickerdoodle cookies, but you’re right – when I’m getting a cookie, I never think about them. Poor, ignored snickerdoodle. Your time will come.

    • Sarah September 4, 2010 at 10:12 pm #

      Well, if that’s the reason you haven’t commented, I can forgive you! As long as you keep reading. :)

  3. Awesome September 5, 2010 at 10:29 am #

    I would just like to say, if a cookie does not have chocolate in it, then snickerdoodles are my next choice. And I pretty much mean if it’s not chocolate chip, then I want snickerdoodle.

    • Sarah September 5, 2010 at 11:27 am #

      I did not know that about you! I pretty much thought it was chocolate chip or bust.

  4. Hannah September 25, 2010 at 9:07 pm #

    GUESS WHAT? Blue Bell makes snickerdoodle ice cream. It’s delicious. I thought of you when I saw it.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

