Here, have a cookie

2 Nov

I made these way before Halloween, so it seems somehow fitting to post them way after. Restoring the balance or something. You know?

I’ve got to tell you, as happy as I am with how these cookies turned out, I’m in no hurry to use black icing again. It got EVERYWHERE. On the floor, on the table, on the counter, on me, in my hair, on my face. I nearly lost a shirt to its fiendish spread, but luckily that was salvageable. Plus it took like hours and half the bottle of dye to get the icing actually black, and not dark purple-y gray.

And then I made these:

Shortbread fingers. Literally. I made them for my boss, who took them to his grandkids and promptly scared them senseless. I hear they didn’t sleep for days. I’m happy to have been a part of such a momentous occasion in their lives. I can’t imagine they’ll quickly forget the time Grandpa tried to feed them fingers.

I would have taken “after” shots, but I was busy trying to get butter out of my pants. Geeze! You’d think that the more time I spent in the kitchen, the less mess I would make, but it seems to be going in the exact opposite direction.  However, take it from me (and those poor children), these cookies ended up eerily realistic. Maybe I’ll post the recipe later so you, too, can traumatize unsuspecting people.  Ah, who am I kidding? In all reality, I probably won’t. Don’t hold your breath.

Hey guess what? I had chili for dinner tonight. That’s right folks, it’s chili weather in NC! At least it was today.

4 Responses to “Here, have a cookie”

  1. Lucas Waniewski November 2, 2010 at 9:35 pm #

    HAHAHAHAH those shortbread fingers are WILD!

  2. Heather November 3, 2010 at 8:16 am #

    Is it bad that my favorite thing about this post is that you had chili? Last night I was discussing the need now that it is cold here (for at least 2 whole days!)

    Also, heard that NC has an all Rep. government for the first time since like 1870 or something? Is this true?

    • Sarah November 4, 2010 at 5:05 pm #

      That’s what I hear!

  3. Beth November 4, 2010 at 3:31 pm #

    My sarah, so sweetly morbid.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

