Come Back to Texas!

3 Feb

“Before you lose your accent
And forget all about the Lone Star State
There’s a seat for you at the rodeo
And I’ve got every slow dance saved
Besides the Mexican food sucks north of here anyway.”

Have you heard that song, by Bowling for Soup? It’s called Come Back to Texas (obviously) and I love it a lot. I especially love the line about the Mexican food, because ain’t that the truth!

I went to college in Texas. For three glorious years I lived in San Antonio, visited the Riverwalk, drove to Austin, drove to Dallas, unintentionally avoided Houston, fell in love with Fredericksburg, hiked in the hill country, marveled at the lightning storms and cried a ton when I left. I called up my brother, sobbing my eyes out (when he was hanging out with his girlfriend’s family. Awkward, I’m sure.) when my roommate moved out. He had to convince me that yes, I really did want to graduate, I had a good future in store for me, and besides, it didn’t matter if I changed my mind and wanted to stay in school for another 10 years, I’d completed and passed all the coursework, so I was graduating whether I walked the stage or not. (Woah, long sentence!) Keep in mind that about a year earlier, I had called this same brother and told him I was quitting school and I hated it and there was nothing nobody could do to stop me. Except talk me into not quitting, which is what he did. Kind of a 180 to go from threatening to quit to never wanting to leave. But I never claimed to be a logical, sane person. And I missed my friends something fierce even after only one day without them. I’m tearing up just remembering it.

I love that song, I love my friends, and I especially love Texas. Like madly. I’d say it’s my favorite state but I am strongly loyal to North Carolina and would never betray her for another. But Texas is a close second. So perhaps it’s no surprise that I have a cookie cutter shaped like that great state. And I use it often.

And I grin like a fool the entire time I’m baking and decorating these cookies. Every time. Have I mentioned I love Texas?

You will notice a few things are out of place. First off, there’s a heart. “What gives?” you might ask. Well, in my family, sugar cookies with very little frosting are shunned. It’s a harsh world for a (partially) naked sugar cookie. I can almost guarantee this heart will still be there long after all the other cookies I’ve made are gone. Non-frosted sugar cookies are like the fat kid in gym class, always picked last.

And then there’s this guy:

Where in the world is West Texas?

This one had problems letting go of the cookie sheet. And lost West Texas as a result. I’m not sure that’s too big of a deal though. What is in West Texas? I thought maybe El Paso was on that westernmost tip, but google maps isn’t showing it. Poor El Paso. It always got a bad rap from the Texans I knew and now it’s not even on the map! But I colored this guy red because, well, I wanted to. And also it’s kind of like it was bleeding. And because Texas is a red state (versus a blue state. But you knew that). But mostly because I wanted to.

What a wash-out.

This one I frosted the other day, then decided the colors were too pale and used the icing on the heart cookies instead. And I was right, just look at the difference:

Much better! These are such fun cookies.  Every time I bake them, I take pictures on my phone and send them to my Texas friends. They’re probably tired of getting the same text all the time, but I will never stop. Because it makes me happy. Let’s look at them again, shall we?

Oooh! Ahh!

Texas, I love you.

6 Responses to “Come Back to Texas!”

  1. afiveyearplan February 3, 2010 at 7:24 am #

    NC loves you, too!

  2. Sarah February 3, 2010 at 10:20 am #

    And I love NC. I’m sure they’ll be an equally fervent post about this great state in the future.

  3. Hannah February 4, 2010 at 12:37 pm #

    <3 <3 <3

    (YESSS, MORE BLOGGERS!)

  4. John Gjertsen July 13, 2010 at 8:16 pm #

    You don’t have to approve this comment if you don’t want to, but… New Bern? Really!? Someone else in New Bern reads Epbot?! We actually don’t find that notion very creepy at all. We just moved here about 3 months ago (ah, but you know that!) and hardly know a soul. Feel free to correspond.

    BTW, I have that same cookie cutter, and I have decorated Texas cookies exactly the same way. Met Abby in Houston while we were both students at Rice. Love Texas.

    • Sarah July 14, 2010 at 9:07 pm #

      Yeah, it’s a small, small world, isn’t it? It boggles my mind! I sent you an email. Welcome to NC! I hope you, Abby, and Valor are liking it here. I’m rather fond of it. :)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Rainy days and Mondays always get me down. « Sarah At The Stove - February 5, 2010

    […] About Come Back to Texas! […]

Leave a Reply

