Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

19 Feb

As you might recall, on Monday I got a brand new stand mixer. Excuse me, I mean my family got a brand new stand mixer. As a thank you to the woman who gave it to us, I baked her oatmeal raisin cookies. But not just any oatmeal raisin cookies! No! These had a couple of secret ingredients: nutmeg, honey, and really fancy cinnamon. I used Penzey’s cinnamon, and it’s astonishing the difference a high quality spice can make. I highly recommend tossing your cheap Wal-Mart cinnamon and buying this stuff. You’ll thank me. However, while I used the good cinnamon, I did use the cheap nutmeg. For shame.

Check out my stand mixer in action!

Look at that mixer mix! Man, life is so much easier with this in my kitchen. And off in the corner you can see the recipe I used. It’s from a book called The All-American Dessert Book by Nancy Baggett. I also have her All-American Cookie Book. Both books I love and really use. As a matter of fact, I get my sugar cookie recipe from her. The cookies are delicious every time.

Here's another peek

Right here I was creaming together sugar, brown sugar, and butter. This is always my favorite part of a cookie recipe, and I sneak several bites of the combined sugar and butter. Sooo good!

It's a wall of cookies!!

I feel like the pictures are really big today. WordPress is not letting me put in the usual size. Of course, that could definitely be user error going on too. But the wall of cookies does look impressive when it’s so huge.

Mmm... Oatmeal Raisin...

These cookies are seriously so good. The nutmeg and cinnamon make them seem warmer somehow. You know, more comforting. And the honey kept them moist. The typical oatmeal raisin cookie is an old favorite and a definite comfort food, but these take it to the next level. Like gourmet comfort. Because that’s how I roll.

In other news, I’m working on a schedule for the blog. I want to post regularly, and when I started, I was aiming for Monday, Wednesday, and Friday postings. But I’ve been sloppy with that, so I’m going to step it up a bit. I’ve already adjusted my blog’s look to something I like much better (how about those cookies on the header, huh? I totally made those!), so now I’m going to work on the content. And the pictures. I promise I’m working on the pictures.

Stick around!!


2 Responses to “Oatmeal Raisin Cookies”

  1. afiveyearplan February 19, 2010 at 9:56 pm #

    This why I never lose weight. Of course nobody is forcing my hand to my mouth…ah but the smell, the texture…
    I was never one to bend under torure. I break right away! Hahaha

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Oatmeal Raisin Cookies: The Recipe « Sarah At The Stove - June 18, 2010

    […] Jun Remember this? I posted that in February and have not yet given you guys the recipe. How could I get away with […]

Leave a Reply

