Sugar Cookie Sunday: Citrus

21 Feb

When I gave away my Texas sugar cookies, someone mentioned that they love citrus. So, I made these cookies. Instead of using the almond extract I usually use, I put lemon extract in both the cookie and the icing. Then I attempted to ice it like a lemon wedge. I think I was pretty successful, but it wasn’t exactly what I was envisioning, so that was a little frustrating.

Still, pretty cute I think.

I was especially tickled with this idea. It’s like how people put real lemon slices on the glass of their tea, but in this case, the “slice” is a cookie and the “tea” is milk. My brothers were mystified by this cookie (“Why is it cut like that? Is it a butt cookie?”) until I iced it and put it on the glass. Then all became clear.

And yes, that is a pint glass in the picture. I stock my kitchen with various pint glasses, and then I use them to…drink milk. Watch out world! We’ve got a rebel over here! This particular pint glass is from the Fredericksburg Brewery in Fredericksburg, TX. We went there when I had family down for graduation. While in many places public intoxication in looked down upon, it was positively encouraged in Fredericksburg. They even had a helpful sign on the Brewery reminding you that you could walk around drinking your beer. But I had already finished mine in the restaurant. I had this beautiful reddish ale. And I had recently dyed my hair red again, and the beer matched my hair! I was pretty excited.

Also in Fredericksburg was a huge pig statue. I’m not entirely sure why, but I liked it.

Photo by my friend Hannah

Fredericksburg, TX is a German tourist town, about an hour outside of San Antonio. If you’re ever in the area, you should check it out! They’ve got all sorts of fun stuff, including a bunch of tourist shops (one was devoted entirely to Christmas ornaments), German restaurants, a Pacific War museum, the Brewery, and several wine tours available in the surrounding areas. The drive up there is really pretty, and it’s just a fun day trip to take with your friends.

But enough about Fredericksburg. Back to my sugar cookies. I ran out of yellow icing, so I made white on white cookies.

I was practicing my swirls and curly-q’s. I really liked the white on white, especially since the lemon extract made the cookies kind of shimmery. But this was my favorite:

Well, it was my favorite until I smeared my finger in the still wet icing on the top of the cookie. Oops. But I was pretty happy that I was able to do recognizable lettering. That’s a huge step for me. I can see improvements every time I make sugar cookies. It’s so encouraging and spurs me on do make even more.

But I think I’m going to take a break from baking today, and focus on eating.

I hope you all have a good Sunday!

4 Responses to “Sugar Cookie Sunday: Citrus”

  1. Hannah February 21, 2010 at 3:40 pm #

    Hmm, that pig picture looks awfully familiar…Fredericksburg represent! I saw the beer glass and immediately went “HEY, I RECOGNIZE THAT!” before I even scrolled down.

    And the lemon cookies are adorable.

    • Sarah February 21, 2010 at 6:36 pm #

      Haha, photo credit goes to you of course. Thanks for bringing me that one day! Otherwise, I’d still be ignorant of that fun little town, and that would be a tragedy.

      Thanks!

  2. afiveyearplan February 21, 2010 at 5:30 pm #

    A butt cookie? Jeeze.
    Lovely picture of you and your friend, there.
    I think the citrus cookies are very cool. Good job!

    • Sarah February 21, 2010 at 6:38 pm #

      Yeah, well you know where their minds are, being teenaged boys.
      Thanks. I like that picture as well. :)
      And thanks for the comment on the cookies. I do think they turned out pretty cute.

Leave a Reply

