The Four C’s of Love

24 Feb

This comes a little past Valentine’s Day, I realize, but I would like to introduce you to the love of my life.

I’m not sure how long we have been in love; the first time I remember catching a glimpse of my love was over two years ago. It was at the crowded Reading Terminal Market in Philadelphia, across the pastry counter. A beautiful tanned exterior masked a soft, sweet interior. And my life was changed forever.

I’d like to introduce you.

I am heads over heels in love with…

Cannoli! More specifically, cannoli cream. Most specifically, cinnamon cardamom cannoli cream.

Je t'aime

It has 5 ingredients and it will change your world. But why did I stick with cannoli cream and not make the whole cannoli, you may ask? Well, as much as cannoli cream is my one true love, deep-frying at home is my bitter ex. We can’t be in the same room without someone getting hurt. To minimize casualties, we don’t see each other anymore.

Te amo

And what better way to show off my sweetie than over strawberries and in the cutest mini trifle dish!

CCCC, I will always love you.

The recipe was super easy and very quick. And the combination of cinnamon and cardamom is delicious. Make this. You won’t regret it.

Cannoli Cream
Recipe from Food Network

Ingredients:

1/3 cup whole milk ricotta cheese
2 tablespoons plus 1/3 cup whipping cream
3 tablespoons powdered sugar
Pinch ground cinnamon (I used about 1/4 -1/2 teaspoon)
I also added about 1/8 teaspoon cardamom – but I would increase that to 1/4 teaspoon

Directions:

Stir the ricotta and 2 tablespoons of cream in a medium bowl to blend. Using an electric mixer, beat the remaining 1/3 cup of cream, powdered sugar,  cinnamon, and cardamom in a large bowl until semi-firm peaks form. Fold the ricotta into the whipped cream. Place in the refrigerator for at least 30 minutes to stiffen and yield a creamier filling. (Can be prepared 4 hours ahead. Cover and refrigerate.)

Then top whatever you want with the most amazing cannoli cream known to man. You can use it to top fresh (or even frozen) fruit, fill puff pastry or phyllo dough (precooked, of course), or just eat it straight off the spoon. I won’t judge.

One Response to “The Four C’s of Love”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Lemon Ricotta Cookies « Sarah At The Stove - March 1, 2010

    […] Ricotta Cookies! This took care of the leftover ricotta from my cannoli cream. Lemon Ricotta Cookies are a thick, soft cookie, almost cake-like in texture. Without the icing, […]

Leave a Reply

