I’m Back!

11 Mar

Hello to my two faithful readers! My blog stats show that at least two people have checked back everyday, even though I wasn’t posting anything. Thanks for sticking around! I want to reward you, and the best way I know how is:

FIRE!

Introducing the newest addition to the family of kitchen appliances:


It’s a propane torch! Technically, it’s for “small, soft soldering jobs.” But in my world, it’s for brulee-ing my creme. Maybe I’ll also use it to threaten my brothers and keep them in line; I’m not ruling out any possibilities.

I made creme brulee last week, and I broiled the tops. That used to work just fine, but they’ve been turning out funky lately. Hence the hand torch. This is going to totally make my life easier and more awesome! I’ll have to start inviting people over when I make creme brulee, so I can casually pull this baby out and fire it up. The fun I’ll have! If you get a dinner invitation out of the blue, you’ll know what it’s for. :)

Precise flame adjustment and brass construction and pinpoint torching, oh my! I’ll get some action shots in the days ahead. I have some friends coming over for spring break; that may be the perfect time to wield a fiery implement.

Did you notice that it’s pro-grade and overbuilt? We’re serious about our torches over here, folks!

On a completely different note – why is fire spelled f-i-r-e, but fiery is spelled f-i-e-r-y? Shouldn’t the letter order remain the same when you’re only adding a “y” to create the adjective? What is up with the English language? It’s completely ridiculous, when you think about it.

On another completely different note – I had a Spanish test today where we had to write a conversation using 10 words from a word bank containing about 25 words. One of my characters told the other she was doing really well because she was drinking a margarita. And the other goes, “Really? Isn’t it a little early to be drinking? It’s only 8 in the morning!” And I wrote all this in Spanish! I’m so proud of myself. Obviously, I have all the necessary words mastered.

2 Responses to “I’m Back!”

  1. afiveyearplan March 11, 2010 at 10:27 pm #

    LOL! Two readers! You kill me. Better not be with your new blowtorch.

    • Sarah March 13, 2010 at 7:52 pm #

      Haha! You crack me up!

Leave a Reply

