Busy, busy, busy

13 Mar

I’m taking a few classes at the community college (Painting and Spanish. Woo hoo!) and have a part-time job that keeps my busy. But that’s not what I’m referring to in the title of this post. No, shockingly enough for a food blogger, I’ve been kept busy with cooking and baking! (That was sarcasm, folks. I know it doesn’t always come across well on the internet, but it was.)

What have I been up to, you ask?

On Thursday, I made marshmallows. They are pink and just the cutest things you have ever seen! They also taste pretty strongly of honey. I’m not the biggest fan, so I’m going to try again. But they were astonishingly easy to make. I was fascinated by the gelatin. What a weird substance. It was gel-like (perhaps obvious, since it is gelatin), and kind of springy and just strange.

Today (Saturday), I made orange-basil creme brulee. It’s for dessert, so I can’t give a verdict on it yet, but I’m pretty excited. My Flavor Bible tells me that orange+basil+sugar=great combination! I’m also cooking a meatloaf that is smelling pretty good. After dinner, I’ll mix up some of my famous chocolate chip cookies. My little brother calls them “Ecstasy Cookies,” ecstasy in this case meaning “rapturous delight” and not “hallucinogenic drug.”

And tomorrow I’m going to be making soft pretzels, from scratch, and another batch of marshmallows. They’re going to be green this time. And maybe I’ll mix up some sugar cookie batter.

Plus, I’ve also been having cravings for cupcakes. Perhaps they’ll show up in there somewhere this weekend.

Busy, yes?

Alas, my little brother has taken my digital camera with him on a trip, so I can’t actually share pictures of any of these goodies with you as of yet. But I will take pictures just as soon as I can, provided anything is still left by the time the bro shows up. And I’ll post recipes too, in the coming days. I tweaked my creme brulee recipe (I feel like a proper chef!), and I wouldn’t want you to miss out on the best chocolate chip cookies known to mankind.

But just so you don’t feel cheated, here’s a picture of the last creme brulee batch I made:

This was before I broiled it and it turned ugly; before I pulled it out of the oven and dropped it on the ground, spilling luscious almond scented custard all over the floor and breaking my heart; and before I ran out and bought my propane torch. This unsuspecting custard just doesn’t know the horrible future lurking around the corner…

3 Responses to “Busy, busy, busy”

  1. Karen Page & Andrew Dornenburg March 13, 2010 at 7:30 pm #

    <>

    MMMmmm….Sounds delish!

    Delicious wishes,
    Karen & Andrew
    Co-authors of THE FLAVOR BIBLE
    http://www.becomingachef.com/flavor_bible.php

    • Sarah March 13, 2010 at 10:57 pm #

      Thanks! It was really good.

      And I love your book! It has really helped me out.

  2. afiveyearplan March 13, 2010 at 11:12 pm #

    I can vouch for that!

Leave a Reply

