The Blowtorch of Doom

14 Mar

I know you guys. I know you’re holding your breath, waiting eagerly for an update on the performance of the blowtorch. “Did you burn anything down?!” “How many casualties were there?” “Was it AWESOME?!”

Alas, the answers are “No, none, and no.” The blowtorch wouldn’t work. Now, it could have been user error. However, it was my mom operating the thing (I admit it: I was scared) so I doubt that’s it. She’s a smart cookie. We got the torch lit, but when she went to caramelize the tops of the custard, it emitted a large fireball and went out. So we had a couple of close calls, a frightened cat, and broiled creme brulee. Disappointing, to say the least. Now the question is, do I keep broiling these creme brulees or do I invest in a kitchen torch, which is more expensive and less heavy-duty? I’m still up in the air about that.

The creme brulee was delicious, nonetheless.

5 Responses to “The Blowtorch of Doom”

  1. Allen Taylor March 14, 2010 at 3:46 pm #

    Nice writing. You are on my RSS reader now so I can read more from you down the road.

    Allen Taylor

    • Sarah March 14, 2010 at 3:54 pm #

      Thanks and welcome!

  2. afiveyearplan March 14, 2010 at 8:05 pm #

    Creme brulee! Creme brulee!
    well, no matter what you did it was still great. Thanks for making it.

  3. Stephanie - Cook's With a Blowtorch May 31, 2010 at 5:12 am #

    Do iiiiiiit. I got a
    Bonjour chef’s torch, use it all the time and havent burnt the house down.

    Love the blog, I will be adding you to my RSS feed too so I remember to keep reading it :)

    • Sarah May 31, 2010 at 11:14 am #

      Thanks for the recommendation, I’ll check it out!

      And welcome to the blog! I’m headed on over to check yours out.

Leave a Reply

