Spring Sugar Cookies!

25 Apr

Ok, I’m late on the Easter sugar cookie train. Very, very late, I know. But that also means I got my Easter cookie cutters and sugar on sale. Woo hoo! And even though they’re “Easter,” they make the transition to “Spring” very easily.

I’m very happy with how these cookies turned out. I read somewhere that instead of waiting for the outline to dry, you should go ahead and flood the cookie right after piping the outline. That way there’s not that obvious line around the icing. And I must say, I think that little tip makes my cookies look so much better.

On top of that, I did a pretty simple design that I think is absolutely adorable. Sometimes, simpler is just better. Behold:

Here’s a little closer look:

Look at their little bunny tails!! Aren’t they precious? I found these guys on one of the cookie blogs I read, Cookie Crazie. It’s basically the most brilliant idea ever, because you don’t have to mess with decorating a face or anything. Plus it’s unexpected, which I think just makes it all the more fun!

I did do some other cookies too, tulips and butterflies. These are my prettiest:

I didn’t have a whole lot of cookies to ice this time around. I decorated several with just sprinkles instead of royal icing, and my family ate kind of a lot of the undecorated cookies. I guess I’ve been depriving them of sugar cookies/cookies in general these days. Must remedy that.

Also, I’m teething and it’s painful. My wisdom teeth are coming in. Ouch! I know, this has no relevance to the post or really anything. But let me tell you, I feel for those poor babies growing all those teeth instead of the two I’m dealing with. Now, I’m off to gnaw on some ice and whine about it.

Au revoir!

4 Responses to “Spring Sugar Cookies!”

  1. slamdunk April 25, 2010 at 11:18 pm #

    Sugar cookies are a big hit in this family and those look fantastic.

    • Sarah April 26, 2010 at 8:28 am #

      Thank you! I was very pleased with how they turned out.

  2. afiveyearplan April 26, 2010 at 5:21 am #

    Not just pretty and fun, those cookies are delish!

    • Sarah April 26, 2010 at 8:29 am #

      They are! And you guys seem to be eating them quicker than usual. Maybe it’s because they’re too adorable to resist? At least, that’s why I’m eating them!

Leave a Reply

