Blueberry Muffins

29 May

I went to the farmer’s market today, which is one of my favorite places. People from the community have tables set up that sell anything from farm fresh vegetables to homemade heirloom cutting boards to homemade bread and cookies. There’s also jewelry and soap and fresh flowers. There’s this cute little Russian lady who bakes the best almond crescent cookies, and is so sweet to me and my mother. If we miss a week, she notices and asks to make sure we weren’t sick or anything. And one woman makes exquisite baby clothes. They’re smocked, and take several hours per outfit, I believe. She’s even got little baby bonnets! In the corner, a guy sells custom printed t-shirts and aprons and sweatshirts. He’s also in charge of the music playing over the loudspeaker, and it’s always something I recognize and can dance to. Which I’m sure embarrasses whoever accompanied me that week. Although occasionally my mum dances along too, so maybe it’s not as embarrassing as I imagine.  Or she has a high tolerance for embarrassment. Fun times! I really love that place.

This week, among my haul I got two pints of blueberries. Beautiful, plump, juicy berries just crying out for muffin batter. Who am I to argue with that? Blueberry muffins it was! I put a whole pint in the batter, so they generously studded the muffin and oozed out all over the place. Not very pretty, but delicious.

I topped them with a cinnamon-sugar mixture, just like my mum did when she made muffins for us when we were little.

Blueberry Muffins
from Eating Economically Is Just Plain Smart

Ingredients:

2 cups flour
1 tablespoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/3 cup sugar
1/4 cup oil
1 cup milk
2 eggs
1 pint blueberries

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees

2. In large mixing bowl, combine flour, baking powder, salt, and sugar. Mix briefly with a fork.

3. Add oil, milk and eggs to dry ingredients. Stir with a fork until completely mixed, scraping the bowl when necessary. When completely mixed, stir in the blueberries.

4. Grease a muffin tin or line with cupcake liners. Divide batter evenly among muffin cups. Sprinkle cinnamon-sugar mixture over tops, if desired. (Mix a sugar with a little bit of cinnamon, to your taste.)

5. Bake in preheated oven for 15 or 20 minutes or until muffins are light to medium brown and a toothpick inserted into center of muffins comes out clean.

6. Eat!

5 Responses to “Blueberry Muffins”

  1. Beth May 30, 2010 at 5:34 am #

    The farmer’s market is so rich with goods right now. I’m glad we moved so close to the place. It makes my day to go, and it’s fun to dance now and then. You never embarrass me.
    Take care!

  2. Beth May 30, 2010 at 5:34 am #

    Nice site look, by the way!

    • Sarah May 30, 2010 at 12:05 pm #

      Thanks! It’s a new theme they recently released.

      And I’m so glad we moved closer too! The farmer’s market is just such a fun place.

  3. Awesome June 1, 2010 at 10:13 am #

    I just wanted to comment. I also wanted to ask if when I visit can we please go to the Farmers Market? I would LOVE to dance with you and your mom.

    • Sarah June 1, 2010 at 10:45 am #

      Heck yeah! Just make sure your visit spans a Saturday so we can go! Thanks for the comment. :)

Leave a Reply

