Sugar Cookies: Stationary

2 Jul

I love snail mail. The thrill of opening the mailbox and finding a letter or card never gets old. In college, my mother kept my mailbox full. About once a week, whether I wrote back or not, she sent me a letter. On Valentine’s Day she sent me flowers, and on Halloween and Easter, she sent me candy. Now that I’m home, I exchange mail with friends. I’d like you to meet two of them.

The first of the pen-pals is a girl I’ve known since third grade. Her name is Angela, and she is one of the nicest people I know. Really lovely, inside and out. She always sees the best in people, and is one of those people who you instantly feel comfortable with, you know? Plus, she’s funny.

Hi Angie!

We went to private school together; it was her first year there. At this school, students were given certain jobs each week, and my soon-to-be friend was assigned the role of bathroom monitor. I’ve been thinking and thinking, and I’m not really sure why the job existed. She was supposed to make sure no fights broke out in the girl’s bathroom, I guess, because what else was there to monitor? My school was big on teaching responsibility, even if technically there was nothing to be responsible for. So there we were: she was brand new to the school, still making friends, and I was fresh off summer break, all pouty about being back and cooped up in a classroom. I was the last one into the bathroom, where she was monitoring, and after I used the restroom and washed my hands we walked out together. And she said to me, “You know, you’re the only one who washed your hands…” Disgusting, right? So we bonded over germs. Pretty effectively, too, because we’re still best friends all these years later.

Looking windswept at the beach

Perhaps not surprisingly, she is now a registered nurse. She moved away in sixth grade, so I haven’t seen her all that much in person, but we still keep in touch. A couple of weeks ago, she sent me a note on the cutest stationary.

Is that not adorable? Naturally I thought I’d send her cookies to celebrate her certification, her new job, and her new apartment. And even more naturally, I decided to match the cookies to the stationary.

I’m tickled with how they turned out, and I hope she likes them!

The other friend I want you to meet is a college buddy. I met her the beginning of my sophomore year. She was part of a group (called the Orientation Team) that guided the new students through orientation week (moving in, picking classes, exploring campus, etc). Her name is Heather, but I call her Awesome, because she is.

My friends are pretty.

I met her at a dance party the Orientation Team was holding while the first-years climbed the tower we have on campus. A few days later, after classes started, I walked into Latin class and found Heather already there. Over the next two years, we bonded over classes, celebrating the end of classes (see pic below), speaking French*, soccer, wearing high heels (we’re both really tall – the heels put us at a couple of inches over six feet), taking a lot of pictures together, celebrating 21st birthdays, and graduation. And that just barely scratches the surface of all the fun times we had. Like Angie, she’s wonderful and funny. As a matter of fact, all my friends are.

* Should you be interested, here’s the story of how we met, in French. Courtesy of Heather.

L’histoire de Sarah et Heather: Il y a deux filles qui manquaient quelque chose. Mais, un jour, les deux filles ont recontré sous la tour de Trinity. Là, sous les lumières, elles ont dansé beaucoup. Puis, après quelques semaines, Sarah a transféré dans la classe du latin et elle a trouvé Heather! Sarah et Heather étaient enfin completes parce que elles se sont eues. C’etait parfait! Les deux sont devenues Princess et Awesome et elles prennent beaucoup d’images.

To celebrate the end of Latin class, we burned all our notecards.

Now we bond over recipes, the World Cup, how we act like 80-year-old women, the places we’ll travel, and current events as they pertain to the World Cup. Since June, most of our topics of conversation have been about recipes or the World Cup, actually.

I have approximately 1,234,096,190,364 pictures of us.

In honor of our letters back and forth, I made some letter cookies for her.

The “A” blob stands for Awesome, and the “P” blob stands for Princess, which is her nickname for me. “Sarah” means “princess,” and it was only fitting that I got a nickname after I dubbed her Awesome.

Did you enjoy meeting my friends? I did, all those years ago and I’m very glad they are in my life. They’re witty, intelligent, loyal, goofy, slightly insane, loving, classy, motivated, and inspiring people. And who could ask for more in a friend?

12 Responses to “Sugar Cookies: Stationary”

  1. Awesome July 2, 2010 at 2:48 pm #

    I LOVE this post. I want to meet your other friend so we can all be amazing together. Also, I’m going to eat my remaining cookie now to celebrate our friendship, while I write you a letter and watch soccer. Seems fitting :)

    • Sarah July 2, 2010 at 3:45 pm #

      I’m glad you love it! You should meet my other friend! When you come visit, and we go up to Boston to meet your friend, we’ll stop in and meet mine. :) Enjoy your cookie, and thanks for being so awesome.

  2. Awesome July 2, 2010 at 2:49 pm #

    Also, I think you picked lovely pictures of us! Levis genu!

    • Sarah July 2, 2010 at 3:45 pm #

      :) I had plenty to choose from, that’s for sure!

      • Awesome July 2, 2010 at 6:29 pm #

        I miss taking pictures with you :( I feel like the Fourth of July would be a perfect opportunity for us and we’re squandering it by being miles and miles and miles apart.

      • Sarah July 2, 2010 at 6:48 pm #

        So true! Although, really, any occasion is a perfect opportunity for us to take a plethora of pictures. We’ll make up for it when I next see you!

  3. Beth July 2, 2010 at 6:21 pm #

    P.S. You’re welcome! Mom

    • Sarah July 2, 2010 at 6:45 pm #

      Thanks Mom! I really appreciated all that mail over the years. :) And my friends were always jealous of my full mailbox!

      • Beth July 2, 2010 at 7:49 pm #

        As they should be!

  4. Angie July 3, 2010 at 4:59 pm #

    You did such an amazing job at making the cookies look like the stationary! I recognized it right off! Not to mention how delicious the cookies were to eat! P.S. I love having friends that wash their hands ;) Miss you!

    • Sarah July 3, 2010 at 6:37 pm #

      Thanks! I was so tickled with myself! Ha, probably tooting my own horn too much. But it was definitely fun to do and see them come together. :) I’m glad you enjoyed them. I miss you too! I hope the job/apartment is great!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Playing catch-up « Sarah At The Stove - July 21, 2010

    […] are some cookies I made when I made the sugar cookie stationary. I FINALLY got the wet-on-wet technique […]

Leave a Reply

